top of page



First ever Land Acknowledgement and Wampanoag Language blessing on NBC during the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade 2020

In collaboration with Indigenous Direction, the 2020 Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade will feature a land acknowledgement, traditional rattle song, and blessing to honor the Wampanoag and Lenape people. This broadcast will take place on Thursday, November 26th at 9:00am in all time zones around the globe. Ryan Opalanietet Pierce (Lenape) and Joan Henry (Tsalagi/'Nde/Arawaka) will acknowledge the Lenape territory of Manahatta where the parade takes place annually. Mashpee Wampanoag tribal members and language keepers Annawon and Brian Weeden will provide an honoring in Wôpanâôt8âôk (Wampanoag language).  This opening will be accompanied by Indigenous Ambassadors living in the Northeast region including: Tanis Parenteau (Métis), John Scott Richardson (Haliwa-saponi/Tuscarora), Urie Ridgeway (Lenape), and music by Ty Defoe (Oneida/Ojibwe).


The Wampanoag Tribe, also known as The People of the First Light, have inhabited the Eastern coast of present-day Massachusetts for more than 12,000 years. In the centuries following first contact with colonizing settlers, forced assimilation silenced the Wampanoag language for over 150 years. However, through historical written documents by Wampanoag people, language and culture are again thriving today on this Indigenous land. 


The Wampanoag blessing, which was written and shared with us by Siobhan Brown of the Wampanoag Language Reclamation Project, ( will air exclusively in the Wampanoag language, but translates in English to the following: “Creator and Ancestors, we honor you for all things. We honor the Lenape people of Manahatta. We honor all our relations because, long ago, we were here. Now we are here and we will always be here. And so it is.”


Indigenous Direction co-founders Larissa FastHorse (Sicangu Lakota) and Ty Defoe (Oneida and Ojibwe) are committed to cultural protocols and ways of looking at the world that have existed on this continent for centuries. Rounding out the team, Associate Consultant for Indigenous Direction and Project Manager:  Jamelyn Ebelacker (Santa Clara Pueblo), Community Liaisons, Siobhan Brown (Wampanoag), and Ryan Opalanietet Pierce (Lenape).


For more information, comments, inquiries, or quote contact: or (661) 373-6678


Representatives stand in a crescent moon shape offering land acknowledgement and blessing.

(From Left to Right: Ty Defoe, Urie Ridgeway, John Scott Richardson, Tanis Parenteau, Ryan Opalanietet Pierce, Joan Henry, Brain Weeden, Annawon Weeden)

bottom of page